NY Sheriffs Association

Warning: Use of undefined constant php - assumed 'php' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/customer/www/nysheriffs.org/public_html/wp-content/themes/nsa/category.php on line 59

Dominic D’Agostino Appointed to NY Interoperable and Emergency Communication Board

Governor Cuomo has appointed Schenectady County Sheriff Dominic Dagostino as a Member of the New York State Interoperable and Emergency Communication Board for a four-year term. The 25 member SEIC […]

Governor Cuomo Taps NYSSA President for Law Enforcement Agency Accreditation Council

Our Association President, Wayne County Sheriff Barry Virts (pictured right), has been appointed by Governor Cuomo to serve on the New York State Law Enforcement Agency Accreditation Council. The Council meets quarterly to consider and adopt accreditation […]

Dutchess, Ontario, and Tioga Counties Receive Law Enforcement Division Accreditation

Dutchess County Sheriff Butch Anderson, Ontario County Sheriff Phil Povero, and Tioga County Sheriff Gary Howard each received re-accreditation of their Law Enforcement Divisions at the June meeting of the NYS Law […]

Warren County Sheriff’s Office Earns PSAP Accreditation

Warren County Sheriff Bud York has earned Accreditation of his Public Safety Answering Point from the New York State Sheriffs’ Association.  Only 14 of the State’s 62 counties have qualified for PSAP accreditation to date. […]

Yates County Sheriff Ron Spike Elected to NSA Executive Board

Yates County Sheriff Ron Spike has been elected to the 2018-19 Executive Committee of the National Sheriffs’ Association Board of Directors, one of only five Board members who, along with the elected officers, […]

Orleans County Sheriff Bower and Jefferson County Sheriff O’Neill Receive MAGNUS Award

Orleans County Sheriff Randy Bower and Jefferson County Sheriff Colleen O’Neill received the MAGNUS award, given by the International Academy of Public Safety’s National Command & Staff College (NC&SC). The Academy recognized […]

Niagara County Sheriff Jim Voutour Receives J. Standard Baker Award for Highway Safety

Niagara County Sheriff James Voutour is the 2018 recipient of the J. Stannard Baker Award for Highway Safety, which is presented annually by the National Sheriffs’ Association to an officer who has […]

Saratoga County Deputy Cooper receives Medal of Merit from NSA

Saratoga County Deputy Ken Cooper received a Medal of Merit from the National Sheriff’s Association for his outstanding work in the field of community policing in Saratoga County. The NSA awards the Medal […]